Pea Gravel

Emotional day from the time I woke up till I came home to even a cat that doesn’t want to be around me.

If it weren’t so cold I would have stayed much longer among the fake flowers and pea gravel.

It’s so beautiful and quiet there.

I miss my grandma every year at this time.

When January (the month Ed died plus other ridiculous dramatic events that typically only happen in movies but unfortunately happen to me for real ) rolled around I could go to her house.

She’d shove a bowl of something in my hands to peel, snap or shell, and we’d sit silently in the kitchen.

She didn’t babble, my grandma.

She was a woman of few words.

Sometimes loving, sometimes hateful, but you could always bet it was honest.

I yearn for her silent comfort right now.

Sometimes silent gravestones in January make more sense than anything else.

Leave a comment