Fruit

I don’t want to be this person

 angry hurtful Messy

  I don’t want to be this person

   rotting broken failing

  When the Decay begins to spread

   it affects the surrounding fruit 

   pluck the offending spoilage 

   discard the atrophic flesh

    sigh with relief 

    the final exhale 

  I thought I could outrun the downward spiral 

    only to awaken mid-fall 

    clamoring for air 

    finding only handfuls of ashes

    when the Decay begins to spread 

    it affects the surrounding fruit

the ground yawns for the flesh 

drawing closer by the second 

as animated versions of humans

 reflect in my grey irises

  I pretend there isnt a world out there 

  still left to devour 

  but 

  I’ve been so exhausted lately 

  gravity wins eventually 

  creams potions slime and venom 

  I dont want to die

Leave a comment