MONEY DOES NOT BRING RICHNESS

I have lost count in the past month how many of my clients and friends asked me why I am living where i am living, if everything is ok, when will I be moving. I tell each of them I love it here because the rent is only $250. That seems to bring an understanding as I witness emotion wash over their eyes at how painful their house payment must be. Yet how, they wonder, can I be so content in this small space? And yet I look happy, I’ve lost lots of weight, I look younger. What gives?

I decided to make a public statement on my Facebook profile tonight with my obligatory “Happy New Year!”.  I thought I’d break it down to the bare bones in hopes to avoid this in 2015. Society has no problem someone going from Rags to Riches, but when that person goes from Riches to Rags it seems to be a major concern. I hope for all of my followers here that you find RICHNESS in the coming year. I was inspired to write that as I was skyping with my best friend who lives on the other side of the country. Constantly striving for monetary richness leaves us empty if we allow it to consume us.

What can you shed in 2015 that will bring YOU peace?

Happy New Year to all my friends, family, clients and loved ones. I chose to stay home alone this evening and reflect on past years and the year to come. 2014 was a year of loss for many of us. Tears, tragedy and hardships can be viewed as simply negative experiences or they can be viewed as yet another opportunity to prove what an enduring spirit we have. It is what we do with our obstacles that tell our story. It is my fervent wish for anyone and everyone I know to find RICHNESS in 2015. Once you light upon the fact that Richness does not have a monetary value you will obtain the greatest of peace. I was asked three times today why I live where I live when I could have and did have so much more. My answer to anyone who asks me that is this: I am exactly where I need to be at this moment in time. When it is time for me to move forward, I will move forward. But I am in no hurry.

I have had MORE, and MORE sometimes robs us of the little things that life has to offer that make life worth living. It is not the 5 bedroom house, not the big commercial shop, not the cars or the clothes or the trips. The woman who had those things lived a hollow life. All she cared about was becoming the most well known groomer in her county. She became that. People came from all over the state and even surrounding states. The business got so big she was swallowed alive in PRIDE. Pride cometh before the fall folks. Her children had an exhausted grumpy overburdened mother who had no time for them. She lived a loveless life empty of rich relationships. Her daughter had problems she did not have time to deal with.

I was so poor when I was so rich. Fat and poor. Only when I walked away from the MORE did I find peace and RICHNESS in my family, my loved ones, my friends and my career. In my tiny $250 studio duplex I sit at the same grooming table and use the same shears to do the same KICK ASS grooms that I did when I was pumping out almost 3K a month in rent and utilities. People still come from other states and other counties. Not as many, granted, and that’s ok. I live in the ghetto, and I am the richest woman I know. I could go up $15 on my prices and go back to the big shop and the big house. I choose not to. I choose to stay here for now. Now if I can just get my daughter to find peace and richness in her heart, this year may be the best year I have ever had in my life. So do not worry about me. I love all of you for doing so. But trust me when I tell you that I am more happy in this shack than I ever was in the quarter million dollar property on a hill that was never mine to begin with.

Leave a Reply

