BUTTER written in my 1995 journal

THERE ARE HUNDREDS IF NOT THOUSANDS OF POEMS WRITTEN IN PRISON WHERE I HAD WAY TOO MUCH TIME TO THINK. THEY’LL COME OUT AS THE NEED ARISES

 BUTTER 

There is butter in the stereo speakers from where you threw a tantrum Mama and I don’t know how to get it out.

You have left me here in the living room with broken plates, stinky garbage, and a torn dress

And I can only think about the Butter

You told me to have it all cleaned up by the time you get back.

Where are you going Mama? Please don’t leave me here alone.

There are so many holes so small, I cant get the butter out of all these holes and I’m scared

I’m scared here all alone and I’m scared you’ll get back before I can get up and get started

My arms and my back burn so much

Maybe I’ll lay here a little minute more and listen to the Bee Gees sing How Deep Is Your Love through the Butter Speaker

His voice is so sweet but I really need to get that butter and then I’ll find a box to put the dishes in

Daddy will buy me a new dress

And we will go to that Furniture Store you like and get you a new couch and you will be so happy

I’m sorry I was bad

Why were you mad at the couch Mama

It smells like smoke and puppy dog and I like to put my feet under the cushions when you’re not looking

But right now I need to think about that Butter

I cant seem to get up

As soon as I can I think I’ll try to lick it clean

One thought on “BUTTER written in my 1995 journal

Leave a Reply

