From The Widow On Her Anniversary.

I would buy you roses today

If you had a grave to put them on

But you are ashes

“Ashes to Ashes”

And I am dust.

“Dust to Dust”

The roses we ate while making love on LSD

Left a bitter aftertaste that still lingers in the back of my throat.

Won’t you meet me at the old train tonight?

The one we would hide in when we were runaways?

I will curl up in the operators chair

Among the cobwebs and the memories.

I will be the one with the flesh on

And the pumping heart that still grieves your pale skin.

I have a few grey strands and wrinkles that you didn’t live to see

But you’ll recognize me by the crystal blue of my eyes

The salt of my tears

And the baby doll mouth that still whispers your name at all the wrong moments.

Oh Edwin

Come to me by moonlight

Lay your spirit down in my aging bones

Drift your ashes here and let me consume you as never before

One last time, for old times sake

Oh my Baby, my dead Dragon King

I would buy you roses today

If you had a grave to put them on.

Leave a Reply

