Ever Wondered About Becoming A Groomer?

This wonderful blogger has but into words what I never could when my family members would ask me to teach them to groom. People think it’s easy, that we get to play with dogs all day and have fun. I love how she put both the positive and negative aspects of the trade in her blog. I know for me, the Pros far outweigh the Cons, even on the worst of days. I’m sitting at home, out of work for a week due to broken ribs from falling with a dog in my arms. I didnt want him to be injured so I held him in the air and fell full force on my side on the edge of a tub. It’s hard work emotionally and physically. And for me, it’s the best job in the world.

Wizard of Paws Grooming's Blog - for pet owners, groomers and entrepreneurs.

Ever Wondered About Becoming A Groomer?

Here are some things you should think about, or may not have known.

1. There is such a thing as grooming school and much like human hairstyling school costs money and is generally full time. I consider a thorough course to be six months in length and even after graduating you will be green. This is the most comprehensive method of learning to groom and in my opinion the best. You may be able to get a job bathing dogs and gradually learn to groom but it is unlikely and you would be very lucky! Other ways people learn are online or through books/videos. Personally, I would not recommend these methods of learning.

2. No matter what you do, you can not make everyone happy, but you must always try. There is only one thing customer satisfaction is second to and that is animal…

View original post 433 more words

Leave a Reply

