BONE BROTH IS THE FOUNTAIN OF YOUTH AND TASTES FUCKING AWESOME

When you make anything that calls for broth or stock, you are cheating yourself by using Bullion or anything store bought. The cooking process during mass production is done at a low heat and often has preservatives, salt, artificial colors and MSG. Even supposedly organic broth isn’t as good for you as the thick, gelatin like broth you can create when cooking down your own at home. I will add links to the bottom of this page that will lead you to two of my favorite sites that explain the many benifits of home made bone broth.

When I make my bone broths I usually use Beef. I don’t prefer Beef over any other protein, but the Korean markets I frequent sell huge packs of frozen or fresh bones for amazingly cheap. When you make as many soups as I do, it just makes sense to make your own broth that is FAR more healthy than store-bought, plus pennies on the dollar in comparison. I freeze mine in ice-cube trays then transfer to freezer bags.

I’ve made pork broth from Pigs feet (so much awesome collagen in this!) and chicken broth from left over chicken and a package of chicken feet thrown in for the extra collagen. I’ve made seafood broth from Fish heads attached to the spine, (Which also are found fresh at the Korean Market, and cheap.) And last but not least I made venison broth from the ass end of a deer my brother-in-law gifted me because he didn’t know what to do with it. Cutting that thing down took LOTS of soaking and changing the water. NOT FUN but worth it in the end. In all cases you will want to strain after cooking, let cool, refrigerate for a short period so you can spoon off the fat that rises to the top. Some people keep the beef fat to use as tallow in cooking. I don’t because I rarely fry anything.

I know all this sounds disgusting to the average American or English home cook, but this is how it’s done to get the boxes of stock you buy at the grocery, but THAT stock is watered down, most often containing MSG, and has not been cooked at high enough heat for a long enough time to pull out the full amount of vitamins, minerals, amino acids, and collagen that bones have to offer.

Always use apple cider vinegar or rice wine to help pull the calcium and other minerals from the bones.

You can use your bones twice to make two batches. I boil mine for 24 hours in a crock pot or my stock pot. Check on it every few hours to make sure the water level has not gotten too low, and add water as needed, but NOT TOO MUCH or your broth won’t gel. .

I eat as healthy as I can, always trying new things that may sound crazy and finding they make me feel amazing. I found myself nearing 300 lbs several years ago. When I was attuned to Reiki level 1 my body naturally started craving what it needed and rejecting what was bad for it.  I removed high fructose corn syrup, artificial colors, flavors, preservatives, packaged food, refined sugar,corn oil and corn products, most wheat and fast food from my diet, my palate has matured and relishes what is healthy for me. When on the few occasions I tried a processed treat such as Dunkin Donuts or Panera Bread Company I got nauseous, felt tired, foggy headed, and would have an upset stomach within an hour. It took several months to detoxify my system to where it is now, and if I can just quit fucking smoking I’d be in tip-top shape. But I digress…

I’ve lost several dress sizes and my clients every day ask me what I am doing to loose so much weight and look so good. I tell them I eat right. I’d be lying if I said I exercise because I honestly may be the laziest person I know. Seriously.

http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/naughty-nutrition/201202/taking-stock-soup-healing-body-mind-mood-and-soul

And the website from where the featured image to this post came from:

Back to Basics: How to make a nourishing Beef Bone Broth

Leave a Reply

